Me Oh My Oh


Succulent City
November 9, 2009, 10:45 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Defense mechanisms. We all have them. The lack of plants in Arizona has surely forced me to be fascinated with succulents. When I lived in Kansas I could honestly care less about them. Or maybe that had more to do with the fact that I was a KID and obsessed with boys and makeup. The world may never know.

Well regardless of how it started, I love them now. They come in so many colors and shapes, and can be arranged in stunning ways. Here are some of my recent finds:

6a00d8341c6a0853ef0120a58f8107970b-800wi

Via Studio Choo

mla100952_0405_succulents_xlVia Martha Stewart

I love love looooovvveeee it!! I guess you can make this with chicken wire?? All the colors… ALL THE COLORS! I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE!

 

SucculentPortrait

SucculentCloseUp

Via Design Vagabond via Mosstika

and then of course you have MY succulents:

step4

(the two in front… the left is Stella, the right has not presented a name yet ;])

mishmash1

In mah little owlie there. I actually separated the one that is in the right red pot above, and put half of it in the owl. Can I tell you that I about had a heart attack ripping the two sections apart? I don’t see how you can destroy a plant like that and still get them to grow afterward. But it seems to have worked.

SucculentPot

My ever-so-talented Mother planted this cute little pot for me while she was here, using clippings from the yard and some that a friend brought over. They’re actually planted in a trash can that I had in college. Resourceful! I guess these aren’t all “succulents” as much as they are “cacti” but you get the point. They’re small.

You don’t have to live in the desert to keep succulents. I guess you can grow them in anything. I am not even going to attempt to tell you how to care for them based on the fact that I have only kept plants alive for a whopping 3 months now. But it appears that you have to water them. And give them sunlight. But not too much of either… or they will diiiieeee. That ambiguous enough for you?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

love succulents. they are so succulent.

Comment by my favorite and my best

That Martha Stewart succulent tower looks like a coral reef. I want to dance around it and sing the soundtrack to The Little Mermaid. So pretty. I love your little red pots! Are they grobals?

Comment by aquirkydelight




Leave a Reply

