Me Oh My Oh


Shelf Styling
October 21, 2009, 7:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Remember this post I made about the shelves I saw over at I Suwannee? Well while my parents were here we put them up! My dad helped me stain and lacquer them, and Shaf and dad hung them up. They look pretty much fantastic.

Before:

shelving2

After:

ShelvesAfar

And of course we are painted as well.

Now I don’t have them as full as I want them, I am picking things up here and there that I just can’t live without. To be quite honest with you, they are an excellent reason to pick up all those little things that I otherwise wouldn’t have a place for. But don’t tell Shaf that :] Hiiiii baby!

Shelves

I keep rearranging and rearranging and rearranging them. I am new to this “styling” thing, but I think it’s going pretty well. I think I need to pick up some books to use as “filler”. I love the look of a nice stack of books. Here are some high (or low) lights:

Ocean

My deep sea diver is named Herman. Herman is from Home Goods.  The art glass I got at an antique mall… when I got it home and put it on my shelves I thought it looked like coral. The “Thirty-Six views of Mt. Fuji” print I have had forever. I painted the frame silver years ago, and I still love it.

Deer

I adore this little deer from Fruit Fly Pie… I also got a little owl planter from her that you can see here:

Mishmash

Her products are of AMAZING quality and come wrapped really well. Seldom does something exceed my expectations from online to in person, but that was definitely the case with these beauties :]

Now here are two sections that I am not so sure about:

Fan

See that big metal M? I made that in a metal working class in college. The fan is from China, from a foreign exchange student that we had to stay. The Votive holder is from Dubai, I got it on a trip I made there in January. The dachshund is actually a ring holder but I love it so much I use it as a statue… my Mom got me that when I got engaged to Shaf. She also got me the little “m” at one time or another.

Random

In this one, the wooden bird was again from a Chinese foreign exchange student, the candle from my mother, and the decanter a wedding gift.

I am not 100% sure about either of these sections… any suggestions for a novice like me?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh My GOSH!!! MACY I love LOVE the shelves.. Seriously you are awesome.. :0) You wann acome decorate my casa?? Great job!!

Comment by Jenni

fully awesome!

Comment by dj ness




Leave a Reply

