Me Oh My Oh


As Close to Kartell As I’ll Get This Decade.
August 17, 2009, 6:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have dreams. Big dreams. Dreams that involve my kitchen, and an apron, and a bottle of wine, and a big strong man… I MEAN NO. Dinette chairs. I’m talking about dinette chairs. GOODNESS where did my mind go!

I DREAM of owning a set of Kartell Mademoiselle chairs. Just like this.

swad+3

With this fabric.

Via Emmo Home

Picture 1

DREAM is the operating word there, people. I’m no millionaire. As much as I can say I’ll save and save… it ain’t happenin’ people. So I looked for nice alternatives, and the Ikea Nils armchairs were not a bad substitute! For $70 a piece I can definitely afford that over a grand for the (ohsolustful) Kartell. If I must.

with Torsby table

KitchenTable

So Shaf and I drove the 5 seconds to our local Ikea, and picked some up! We got two Nils sans arms as well, because he cleverly pointed out that not everyone is 5’1″ and may very well not fit into an armchair as comfortably as I can. That’s one of the many reasons why I keep him around, people. He looks at things in a completely different way and it makes me complete.

We only got 4 chairs because the rest of our table sits next to a bay window bench, which make up two of the seats. Which I love.

The Torsby table would look nice since the kitchen adjoins to our front room, and I ordered CB2’s Smart Coffee Table. Chrome frame? Check. Glass top? Check. We have touchdown.

Plus, I think it’s a nice mix of the Mademoiselle chairs, and this:

Via Elements of Style

Meichi Peng-elementsofstyle

So. I WILL be making covers for my little Nils-es, oh yes I will. Since my kitchen is going to be Red and Aqua, I was thinking about doing them in one (or more? DARING!) of these. I’m really diggin’ the Joel Dewberry Lattice. And the Architectural, but that may be hard to march up with the arms. And too busy? Who knows. We shall see. Which do you think??

FabricCollage

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh I want a red & aqua kitchen too πŸ™‚ and those Kartell chairs are something to dream about indeed!

The fabrics are all stunning, so any combination would be a winner (but I’m with you on the Lattice & Architectural)

Great post! Thanks for sharing this πŸ™‚

Comment by Naomi Friedman

That is so awesome! I love their everything also, and I bet yours will be perfect (for much cheaper!). I vote for one and two πŸ™‚

Comment by K @ Blog Goggles

Those Ikea chairs look pretty good. I think that’s an excellent substitute for the Kartell ones. I love your fabric choices – I think my favorites are 4, 6 and 7. A mix of two of them would be great! Good luck!

Comment by FROM THE RIGHT BANK

I like #4, 5, & 7.

Can’t wait to put my two cents in on the rest of your home decorating decisions.

πŸ™‚

Comment by Katie Decker

Oh, I love those fabrics. I have this vague hope that one day I’ll be able to tweak my red dining room & kitchen into red/aqua for summer and red/purple for winter…
Have you looked at Bemz for Ikea slipcovers? They do a nice range, although I’m not sure a red+aqua print is offered.
http://www.bemz.com/index.php/prod_id/3/page/shop/model_id/83/

Comment by Struggler

me oh my oh! it’s going to look AHHHmazing. it’s funky. it’s fresh. and it’s bargain happy. loves it!

Comment by bananas.

What a tough fabric call. I say 5 or 7. Best of luck! It will look awesome!

Comment by The Glam Lamb

Need a 3d model of kartell & tom dixon furnitures ??
I bet you’ll love this : http://www.exchange3d.com//artist_3217.html

all 3d catalog kartell-tom dixon for a cheap prices are there, available in 3d max, c4d, obj, & 3ds …
go check it out!!

Comment by asrul yhanu




Leave a Reply

